Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Just one evil act by Elizabeth George

"As her devoted readers know, George’s D.I. Lynley procedurals are more about characters than crime. This entry is certainly no different, but, unlike the most recent books, which center on a distraught Lynley, recovering from his wife’s murder, the focus is on Lynley’s partner (and polar opposite), D.S. Barbara Havers. It begins when Taymullah Azhar, Barbara’s neighbor, asks for help in finding his beloved daughter, Hadiyyah, with whom his wife has absconded."
Excerpt from Booklist

The first book in the series, A Great Deliverance (1988), was a 1988 Agatha Award for Best First Novel, 1989 Anthony Award for Best First Novel, Finalist 1989 Edgar Award for Best First Novel and Finalist 1989 Macavity Award for Best Novel.

Elizabeth George has a website:

No comments: