Thursday, January 30, 2014

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches By Alan Bradley

England, 1951
Sixth book in the Flavia de Luce mystery series, Flavia and her family, the village and even the former prime minister, are waiting at the railway station for the return of Harriet de Luce, who has been missing in the Himalayas since 1941.
Flavia, daughter age eleven:
“Your mother has been found.
Nearly a week after he had made it, Father’s shocking announcement was still ringing in my ears.
Harriet! Harriet found! Who could believe it?
Harriet, who had been lost in a mountaineering accident when I was barely a year old; Harriet, whom I can’t remember seeing, ever, with my own eyes.”
In this book, the de Luce family’s involvement during World War II is finally explained.
Start with the first book, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, where Flavia, budding detective and chemist, and the de Luce family live on the crumbling estate, Buckshaw, which has survived for centuries.
Find in the new book section under Fiction BRADLEY

No comments: